March 21, 2018

Texans Name Three New Captains

Today the Houston Texans announced three new captains to the team. J.J. Watt, Chris Myers and Shiloh Keo were all named as new captains for the Texans at the halfway point of the season.

J.J. Watt has been a terror to opposing offenses and has been a superstar in the making, and now Watt has been rewarded by his teammates for what he has brought to the field for the last eight games. Watt this season has 39 total tackles (31 solo), 10.5 sacks and 10 pass deflections at just the halfway point of this season.

Starting center Chris Myers has been a steady force for the offensive line as he enters his fifth season with the team.  He has started 72 consecutive games at center. Almost leaving this past season due to free agency, Myers has shown why he has been an important piece to the Texans’ franchise and leader of the offensive line.

For the special teams unit, the Texans voted second year safety Shiloh Keo as their newest captain. Drafted out of Idaho, Keo was cut his rookie season and found his way back to the Texans’ practice squad and then called up due to injury in 2011. This past season Keo was in jeopardy of not making the team but made the final cut out of preseason and has been a staple for the special teams. He is on all special teams units and him being voted captain speaks volumes of what his teammates think of him.

The three new captains join Matt Schaub, Andre Johnson, Antonio Smith, Brian Cushing and Tim Dobbins as the 2012 captains.

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: